Finding Grants and Writing Proposals: Finding Grants

URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/grants

CMU Supported Funding Resources

CMU ORGS subscribes to four grant databases to facilitate searches for federal, state and private sponsors. Please read a brief introduction to learn how to access and search the databases

  • Grants Resource Center(GRC) Where prompted add username (cmich)and password (service), then click on “Grant Search” at the top of the webpage.
  • Pivot provides access to $44 billion funding opportunities and 3 million scholar profiles globally.

CMU Office of Research and Graduate Studies (ORGS) Services support research at CMU including searching for funding sources, liaison with external agencies, guide proposal development, etc. ....

CMU Faculty and Staff Internal Funding Programs

CMU Faculty and Staff External Funding 

CMU Student Funding and Resources

CMU Libraries Collections and Librarians: help CMU researchers use library collections to identify funding agencies in research fronts and finding resources for literature reviews. 

Federal Government

What is a government grant? A grant is a way the government funds your ideas and projects to provide public services and stimulate the economy. Grants support critical recovery initiatives, innovative research, and many other programs listed in the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA). A grant is one of many different forms of federal financial assistance. You will find grant and cooperative agreement opportunities from federal grant agencies.

Nonprofit/Private Organzations

What is a foundation grant? It is free monetary assistance provided to individuals and small businesses by companies, citizens, government, and nongovernment organizations. There are a large number of nonprofit organizations and for-profit businesses that also provide grants or other types of funding assistance. The information below is not exhaustive.

  • Foundation Center Established in 1956, Foundation Center maintains a comprehensive database on U.S. and global grant-makers and their funding opportunities updates weekly. See search examples.

CMU library does not have a subscription to Foundation Center, but Funding Information Network facilitates free access to 400 locations.  Use this map to find a network location near you.

  • GuideStar Includes information on all tax-exempt nonprofits registered with the IRS. There are more than 1.8 million organizations in the database including more than 1 million public charities, approximately 141,000 private foundations, and more than half a million other exempt organizations.

Michigan Grants

Major sources

  • Foundation Center
  • Council of Michigan Foundations - a searchable directory for Michigan community foundations
  • Michigan Government Grants
  • EGrAMS  (Electronic Grants Administration and Management System) Portal:  State of Michigan grant management application portal to aid the grantee community in the search for grant opportunities state-wide.  EGrAMS-MI.com allows one stop shopping for organizations to access and find grants across State Departments.

Others

International Funding and Grants

Two major sources

Others

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy