CMU Library Data Collection and Data Services

What is research data?

“recorded factual material commonly accepted in the scientific community as necessary to validate research findings including data sets used to support scholarly publications." Spichtinger and Siren (2018)

Data Collection Methods

In general, researchers collect data using two methods: qualitative and quantitative. Quantitative is a more objective type of method because it uses conventional standards of reliability and validity: numbers. Qualitative data use empirical means, such as interviews, observations, analysis, visual materials, and personal experience. In addition, qualitative data doesn’t need to be constrained to text; images, like photographs, video, and audio recordings can also be considered qualitative data. An anthropologist collecting oral history and recording it is a type of qualitative data collection.

Sources of data for research 

There are five sources of data come from primary and secondary research methodologies. Primary research refer to original data collected firsthand by researchers specifically for their research purposes. Examples:

• Surveys
• Observations
• Experiments
• Interviews and focus groups
• Secondary data sources involve data collected by someone else for purposes other than your specific research. Check Library datasets collection. Examples:
  • Government sources, e.g. census data
  • Repository databases. e.g. ICPSR, FAIRsharing
  • Published images, photos, micro-forms, texts, literature, etc.  

What is a dataset?

A dataset is a structured collection of related data, often organized in tables or databases, that is used for research, analysis, or processing. It can include various types of data, such as numerical data, text, images, or videos.

Why use datasets?

Researchers use existing datasets to conduct secondary analyses to investigate new hypotheses, verify or replicate the results of a study, or to aggregate data across multiple studies such as meta analysis and systematic review.

Where can I find datasets?

• CMU Library subscribed databases for CMU affiliated users
• Open data including datasets produced by government, open repositories for the public
• Academic journals increasingly require authors to share the datasets associated with their research findings. A reference to the dataset can be found in the published article.

CMU Library Data Services assist CMU researchers with data across the entire research lifecycle from the earliest planning phase, through archiving and dissemination. 

Services offered:

• Data Collections
• Research Data Management (RDM)
• Data Repositories
• Data Citation and Impact

Specifically, we can assist with researchers' needs such as:

• Find and access the data you need to conduct your research;
• Help you to find relevant sources for your literature review;
• Provide information for creating your data management plans (DMP);
• Provide information related to creating data documentation, metadata standards;
• Identify repositories suitable for depositing and preserving different types of research data;
• Assist researchers to track data citation impact;
• Provide library instruction for classes and research consultations for individual researchers on using Library data collection and conducting research data management;
• Developing library research guides, workshops, and tutorials needed for CMU research community.

Contact the librarians for assistance:

• Rui Wang, Social Science Librarian / ICPSR Official Representative wang1r@cmich.edu | Schedule an appointment 
• Rebecca Renirie, Life Science / Medical Librarian hill2ra@cmich.edu
• Or, other Subject Librarians