Research Guides: CMU Library Research Data Collection and Services: Dataset Collection

Dataset Collection

ICPSR Data Archive
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.(ICPSR) is a global organization, the world's largest curated data archive across disciplines: political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse, mental health, and more. (openICPSR collection is not curated data.) How to use ICPSR data collection
Data.gov
Data.gov is the federal government's open data site. It requires federal agencies to publish their information online as open data, using standardized machine-readable data formats with their metadata included in the Data.gov catalog. The site provides tools and resources for finding, downloading, and working with the data, including APIs for developers
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies

Bloomberg Terminal
The Bloomberg Terminal provides access to Bloomberg financial data which are company financials, market and economic data. Data can be download into Excel. There are two terminals in Park Library on the 2nd floor outside of the Copeland Suite and one terminal on the 1st floor in the 1 North study room.
Using the Bloomberg Terminal for data

Cross National Time-Series Data Archive
Political, Legislative and Economic Data on Domestic Conflict Events: Assassinations, Revolutions, Riots, General Strikes, Terrorism/Guerrilla Warfare, Major Government Crises, Anti-Government Demonstrations and Purges
General Social Survey (GSS)
The 1972-2012 GSS cumulative data file for the National Opinion Research Center's General Social Surveys (GSS). Made available by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
IBISWorld
A market research tool that provides analysis and overview, along with strategic insight, on more than 700 U.S. industries.
Roper iPoll
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms covering social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Coverage: 1935 to present.
Statista
Statista covers over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 22,000 sources (market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, government databases). Categorized into over 20 market sectors and 170 industries, Statista provides quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, health, business, social sciences, politics, and more.

DATA.gov Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Data Sheets by PRB "Search hundreds of indicators, thousands of locations, and easily create custom reports to print, download, and share."

Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study The Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents) by Princeton University

Henry A. Murray Research Archive at Harvard University "is Harvard's endowed, permanent repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science, and provides physical storage for the entire IQSS Dataverse Network.”

IPUMS Integrated Public User Microdata Series by Minnesota Population Center (MPC) at University of Minnesota.

Medeley Data Search 10.3 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories

MDRC Created in 1974 by the Ford Foundation and a group of federal agencies, MDRC is best known for mounting large-scale demonstrations and evaluations of real-world policies and programs targeted to low-income people.

The Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID - is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world. The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States.

UK Data Service the UK's largest collection of economic, social and population data for research and teaching.

UNICEF plays a central role in monitoring the situation of children and women – by assisting countries in collecting and analyzing data.

Data repositories allow you to download existing datasets for your research.

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data) global registry of research data repositories that covers repositories from different academic disciplines. Browse by subject
FAIRsharing A cross-disciplinary platform that houses manually curated metadata on standards, databases and data policies. It is searchable and provides a list of certified data repositories.
Open Access Directory of Data Repositories Maintains lists of open access data repositories for a wide range of subject areas.