Datasets Collections

What is a dataset?

A dataset is a structured collection of related data, often organized in tables or databases, that is used for research, analysis, or processing. It can include various types of data, such as numerical data, text, images, or videos.

Why use datasets?

Researchers use existing datasets to conduct secondary analyses to investigate new hypotheses, verify or replicate the results of a study, or to aggregate data across multiple studies such as meta analysis and systematic review.

Where can I find datasets?

• CMU Library subscribed databases for CMU affiliated users
• Open data including datasets produced by government, open repositories for the public
• Academic journals increasingly require authors to share the datasets associated with their research findings. A reference to the dataset can be found in the published article.

This guide provides resources of datasets collections including CMU library subscribed databases, government, organizations, and repositories' open collections worldwide. 

The library data services help reearchers to identify datasets they need for, provide instruction for related classes, individual research consultations, developing research guides, tutorials, workshops, etc. for CMU academic programs and users.

Contact the librarians for assistance:

• Rui Wang, Social Science Librarian / ICPSR Official Representative wang1r@cmich.edu
• Rebecca Renirie, Life Science / Medical Librarian hill2ra@cmich.edu
• Other Subject Librarians