AI in Academic Libraries and Archives: AI in Archives

January 2023 presentation by Lisa Macklem a Ph.D. candidate in law and lecturer at the University of Western Ontario, includes definitions, AI pros/cons generally and for archives, International and national AI laws and court cases, and implications for archives.

LC blog: Experimenting with artificial intelligence and machine learning at the Library of Congress with links to experiments and reports.

n Spring of 2023, American Archivist editors learned that authors had used artificial intelligence (AI) platforms such as ChatGPT in submissions to the Reviews Portal. This sparked a conversation within the Editorial Board about the ethical use of AI in American Archivist content. As ChatGPT and other AI programs are becoming ubiquitous, the American Archivist Editorial Board is endorsing the following Norms and Recommendations for AI use within our publications.

Library of Congress Blog THE SIGNAL Introducing the LC Labs Artificial Intelligence Planning Framework.

Montana State University

"This article is the first to examine the application of AI to digital archives as an issue that requires trust and collaboration across the entire archival circle (from record creators to archivists, and from archivists to users)."

Open access 2021 article by Giovanni Colavizza et al. published in Journal on Computing and Cultural Heritage Volume 15Issue 1

Peer-review article identifies obstacles and possible solutions "to make digitized and born-digital collections more accessible to users.:

GeekWire news article, Oct. 27, 2023

Peer-reviewed article offers possible solutions to the "paradox between the focus on data analysis in current research and the difficulty researchers have in accessing cultural data through digital archives, but increasing access to digital collections remains a challenging and complex problem.:There is a paradox between the focus on data analysis in current research and the difficulty researchers have in accessing cultural data through digital archives, but increasing access to digital collections remains a challenging and complex problem."

Peer-reviewed article provides a "a snapshot of the practice of AI in Australian recordkeeping"

Peer-reviewed article "proposes a human-centred approach to AI development for democratising its development towards fairness and social inclusion, contrary to the stereotypical cliché of blackboxing, allowing space for the plurality of born-digital archives to flourish."

Peerr-reviewed article "investigates how people react to texts generated algorithmically, whether they are indistinguishable from original/human-generated texts, and the value people assign these texts."