Research Guides: AI in Academic Libraries and Archives: AI and Library Resources

AI Tools within Library Resources

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
ProQuest One Education This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Education is the only multi-format full-text education solution which indexes all included content with the ERIC thesaurus, the recognized authority for searching Education literature. This provides ease and consistency for researchers of all levels, helping instructors and librarians train students in an essential tool.

Smart Search with Research Assistant (Beta)
Access the research assistant functions at the top of the site.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista covers over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 22,000 sources (market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, government databases) onto a single platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors and 170 industries, Statista provides quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, health, business, social sciences, politics, and additional areas of interest. It allows simple keyword searches and full citations which will serve as a valuable tool for users to quickly locate and access the specific information that are relevant to their research needs or academic interests. Includes built in (optional) Research AI tool.

AI and Proprietary Content

Restrictive Policies

Two CMU Libraries database vendors have expressively prohibited users from imputing their contents into an AI tool or large language model (LLM) (see below). Other copyrighted content may also be prohibited from adding to LLMs such as ChatGPT.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Licensee shall make reasonable efforts to ensure its employees, agents, and any third party acting on Licensee’s behalf not to use any IEEE Content for the purpose of creating, training, enhancing, developing, maintaining, or contributing to any AI, Machine Learning System, or Large Language Model, whether owned by Licensee or any third party.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
CMU Libraries subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.

Cooperative Agreements or Policies

Generative AI Licensing Agreement Tracker
ITHAKA S+R is tracking publishers that have licensed their scholarly content for use as training data for LLMs.

Authorship and AI tools - Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) position statement
ACM Policy on Authorship
"Generative AI tools and technologies, such as ChatGPT, may not be listed as authors of an ACM published Work. The use of generative AI tools and technologies to create content is permitted but must be fully disclosed in the Work."
Cambridge University Press: AI Contributions to Research Content "AI does not meet the Cambridge requirements for authorship, given the need for accountability. AI and LLM tools may not be listed as an author on any scholarly work published by Cambridge"
Elsevier AI Author Policy “Authors are allowed to use generative AI and AI-assisted technologies in the writing process before submission, but only to improve the language and readability of their paper and with the appropriate disclosure, as per our instructions in Elsevier’s Guide for Authors.”
Emerald Publishing Ethics "Firstly, because these tools cannot take accountability for such work, AI tools/large language models cannot be credited with authorship of any Emerald publication. Secondly, any use of AI tools within the development of an Emerald publication must be flagged by the author(s) within the paper, chapter or case study."
IEEE Submission Policies “The use of content generated by artificial intelligence (AI) in a paper (including but not limited to text, figures, images, and code) shall be disclosed in the acknowledgments section of any paper submitted to an IEEE publication.”
International Committee of Medical Journal Editors Artificial Intelligence (AI)-Assisted Technology
Nature Statement on Authorship and AI
NIH: The Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence Technologies is Prohibited for the NIH Peer Review Process
NSF: Use of generative artificial intelligence technology in the NSF merit review process
Oxford Academic BJR Artificial Intelligence Authorship "Natural language processing tools driven by artificial intelligence (AI) do not qualify as authors, and the Journal will screen for them in author lists. The use of AI (for example, to help generate content, write code, or process data) should be disclosed both in cover letters to editors and in the Methods or Acknowledgements section of manuscripts."
PLOS - Ethical Publishing Practice
"Contributions by artificial intelligence (AI) tools and technologies to a study or to an article’s contents must be clearly reported in a dedicated section of the Methods, or in the Acknowledgements section for article types lacking a Methods section."
Sage Assistive and Generative AI Guidelines for Authors
Sage Publications Inc Using AI in peer review and publishing
Springer AI-Assisted Research Publications
Taylor & Francis Clarifies the Responsible use of AI Tools in Academic Content Creation
Wiley Author Services: Best Practice Guidelines on Research Integrity and Publishing Ethics: Artificial Intelligence

Generative AL Research on SSRN Special Topic Hub
Woefully Insufficient Publisher Policies on Author AI Use Put Research Integrity at Risk by Avi Staiman July 22, 2024
AI Publishing Platforms: Empowering Authors in the Digital Age Jan. 9, 2024
Peh W, Saw A. Artificial Intelligence: Impact and Challenges to Authors, Journals and Medical Publishing. Malays Orthop J. 2023 Nov;17(3):1-4. doi: 10.5704/MOJ.2311.001.
A.I.’s Inroads in Publishing Touch Off Fear, and Creativity: The technology has the potential to affect nearly every aspect of how books are produced — even the act of writing itself. The New York Times, Aug. 2, 2023
Statista Ways book authors' are using artificial intelligence (AI) in the United States as of May 2023
Miller LE, Bhattacharyya D, Miller VM, Bhattacharyya M. Recent Trend in Artificial Intelligence-Assisted Biomedical Publishing: A Quantitative Bibliometric Analysis. Cureus. 2023 May 19;15(5):e39224. doi: 10.7759/cureus.
Vitente, Arvie, Rolando Lazaro, Catherine Joy Escuadra, Jocel Regino, and Esmerita Rotor. “Editorial: The Use of Artificial Intelligence (AI)-Assisted Technologies in Scientific Discourse.” Philippine Journal of Physical Therapy (2023): 1–3.
Checco, A., Bracciale, L., Loreti, P. et al. AI-assisted peer review. Humanit Soc Sci Commun 8, 25 (2021). https://doi.org/10.1057/s41599-020-00703-8