Spanish Language, Literature, and Culture: Films

This program profiles the careers and the potential of literary artists at the forefront of the region's emerging narrative trends. Addressing the influence of the Crack Movement and the McOndo Group-as well as an increasing overlap between cinematic and literary concerns-the program studies the work of Cesar Aira, Ricardo Piglia, Sergio Pitol, Juan Villoro, Fernando Vallejo, Roberto Bolano, Jorge Volpi, Alberto Fuguet, Edmundo Paz Soldan, Marosa di Giorgio, and Pedro Lemebel.

This program weaves art, music, and literature with Western culture to explore the enormous impact of Cervantes' classic on our world today.character and madness.

Characterized by expressions of individuality, popularismo, criticism, stoicism, humor, piety, and dignity, the literature of Spain spans ten centuries, includes some of history's most significant writers, and contains landmark works of every major literary genre. This program provides an overview of Iberian history as it relates to Spanish literature.

Completed a year after his death in 1983, this program presents the definitive biography of Spain's renowned Surrealist film maker and iconoclast, Luis Bunuel

Part of a four-film series that covers aspects of the Spanish Civil War, from the events leading to the conflict until the end of the war and the post-war economic ruin of Spain.

Part of a four-film series that covers aspects of the Spanish Civil War, from the events leading to the conflict until the end of the war and the post-war economic ruin of Spain.

Part of a four-film series that covers aspects of the Spanish Civil War, from the events leading to the conflict until the end of the war and the post-war economic ruin of Spain.

Part of a four-film series that covers aspects of the Spanish Civil War, from the events leading to the conflict until the end of the war and the post-war economic ruin of Spain.

After the Spanish Civil War, the defeated Republicans had only two options: to stay in Spain and accept the rule of Franco's authoritarian regime or to leave their homeland and go into exile. In this program, leading scholars talk about the lives and works of Spain's dispossessed literary elite, whose voices refused to be silenced.

When Valencianos want to get away from it all, they have a lot to choose from. This program offers plenty of food for thought through scenarios involving dining at La Mantandeta, a restaurant known for its regional cuisine; traveling by train to Spain's capital, Madrid; and visiting local beaches and the huge freshwater lagoon known as La Albufera.

This program covers how to greet friends, introduce oneself to strangers, talk about where one comes from, and tell what one does for a living. A whirlwind tour of Spain reveals the country's regional diversity, while a visit to Alcoy during the Moors and Christians festival-a lavish event involving parades, mock battles, and fireworks-spotlights one of Spain's most popular fiestas.

Sightseeing is as much about getting lost-and found again-as it is about visiting monuments and landmarks. This program demonstrates how to ask for and give directions, explains how to say where one lives and works, and illustrates when and where Spaniards typically get a bite to eat. Cultural icons such as the City of Arts and Sciences, near Valencia, and the historic town of Xativa are featured.

Living a balanced life requires plenty of time to relax and have fun. This program uses all sorts of recreational and leisure activities-from sports and wilderness adventures to concerts, shopping trips, and nightclubbing-to stimulate conversation. In addition, the program captures the renowned Fallas festival, where hundreds of satirical sculptures are displayed and, amidst great excitement and gaiety, are joyfully destroyed.

Filmed at a variety of interesting locations including a horchateria, Johnny Maracas' Cuban-style nightclub, and a castle where a wedding is being conducted, this program shows how to order and pay for beverages of all types and how to express familial relationships and marital status. Commentary provides insights into the social scene and family life in Spain.

This program presents questions and answers related to shopping for food and gifts in a variety of settings and arranging for lodgings at hotels. Featured locations include Valencia's Mercado Central, one of Europe's largest indoor marketplaces; a fragrant bakery; a bargain-filled street market; and the bucolic Hotel Mont Sant. Que desea?