Research Guides: Spanish Language, Literature, and Culture: Find Books

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

Library Tutorials

Selected Books

Here are a small sample of CMU Library books (in print or electronic formats) on Spanish language, grammar, and literature.

Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Carol Styles Carvajal; Jane Horwood; Nicholas Rollin (Editor)
Call Number: PC4640 .O94 2004
ISBN: 0198609779
Publication Date: 2005
This third edition of the Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary contains covers 170,000 words and phrases and 240,000 translations with hundreds of new words in each language. This edition also includes the introduction of popular features of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary such as a spread on text messaging in Spanish, and notes on the life and culture of countries of the Spanish-speaking world.
Gramática Para la Composición by M. Stanley Whitley; Luis González
Call Number: PC4112 .W45 2007
ISBN: 9781589011717
Publication Date: 2007
Integrating grammar and composition, this comprehensive edition guides the advanced student through progressively more complex types of writing by organizing the grammar lessons on a functionalist basis around the needs of composition.
The Grotesque æsthetic in Spanish Literature from the Golden Age to Modernism by Paul Ilie
Call Number: PQ6066 .I45 2009
ISBN: 9781588711519
Publication Date: 2009
This is a print book.
Just Enough Spanish Grammar Illustrated by Gabrielle Stobbe
Call Number: PC4112 .S77 2008eb
ISBN: 9780071492331
Publication Date: 2007
Through fun illustrations and colorful diagrams, you'll learn the essential points of grammar. Just Enough Spanish Grammar Illustrated gives you visual cues to the parts of speech and their usage, so next time you are speaking or writing in Spanish, you'll know how to use them correctly.
The Woman in Latin American and Spanish Literature by Eva Paulino Bueno (Editor); María Claudia André (Editor)
Call Number: PQ7081.43 .W66 2012eb
ISBN: 9780786465996
Publication Date: 2012
Noted scholars of Latin American and Spanish literature explore the literary history of Latin America through the representation of iconic female characters. Focusing both on canonical novels and on works virtually unknown outside their original countries, the essays discuss the important ways in which these characters represent nature, history, race and sex, the effects of globalization, and the unknowable other.
The Subject in Question by C. Christopher Soufas
Call Number: PQ6073 .M6 S68 2007
ISBN: 081321467X
Publication Date: 2007
This book presents the first systematic study of "Spanish modernism" in an attempt to end Spain's literary isolation from the mainstream of early contemporary European literature. Traditionally, Spanish literature has been approached by the "literary generational model," an ultra-nationalist perspective that separates Spanish writing from its larger European modernist context... -- Booklist

Marian Matyn

She, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Park 135a (in Clarke Historical Library)

989.774.3990

Subjects: History, Museum Studies, Public and Applied Liberal Arts, World Languages and Cultures

Browse for Books by Call Number

You can find print books by searching in Smart Search and the using the filters on the left side of the results list to limit your results to "available on shelf" and "books."

Alternatively, you can choose to browse the collection.

F1201-F3799 Latin America. Spanish America (history) 1st floor

PC4001-PC4977 Spanish language, 4th floor

PQ6001-PQ8929 Spanish literature, 4th floor

PQ6001-6168 History and criticism
- PQ6001-6056 General
  - PQ6056 Moorish-Spanish literature
- PQ6058-6060 Early to 1500
- PQ(6061)-6073 Modern
- PQ6075-6098 Poetry
- PQ6098.7-6129 Drama
- PQ6131-6153 Prose
- PQ(6155)-(6167) Folk literature
- PQ6168 Juvenile literature (General)
PQ6170-6269 Collections
- PQ6170-6174.9 General
- PQ6174.95-6215 Poetry
- PQ6217-(6241) Drama
- PQ6247-6264 Prose
- PQ(6265)-6269 Translations
PQ6271-6498 Individual authors and works to 1700
PQ6500-6576 Individual authors, 1700-ca. 1868
PQ6600-6647 Individual authors, 1868-1960
PQ6650-6676 Individual authors, 1961-2000
PQ6700-6726 Individual authors, 2001-
PQ7000-8929 Provincial, local, colonial, etc.
- PQ7081-8560 Spanish America