This database is a core collection of engineering, computing, and technology publications. It includes IEEE Society-sponsored transactions, journals and magazines, conference proceedings, and published IEEE standards. Full text coverage from 1988 to the present, with select coverage of content published since 1872.
Engineering Capstone Design by
Structured with a practical approach, Engineering Capstone Design guides engineering students to successfully manage capstone design projects. The book addresses the challenge of open-ended design projects, often in a team-based format, discussing team member roles, communication, and cooperation. It incorporates accreditation requirements and provides a modern framework for working with industry, reinforced by the inclusion of case studies. Offers a structured process for capstone design, responsive to ABET accreditation requirements Explains how to manage design projects under critical timelines and budgets Covers essential topics and steps in a capstone design sequence, including defining, conceiving, presenting, prototyping, building, testing, and redesigning Considers industry perspectives, as well as design competitions Includes case studies for a look into industry experience In addition to guiding engineering students conducting capstone design projects, this book will also interest industry professionals who are engaged in product development or design problem-solving.
Engineering Design Applications IV: Structures, Materials and Processes by
This book presents the developments in engineering design application. The chapters on mechanical, materials, computer and process engineering provide the foundation for the design and development of improved structures, materials and processes. They present alternatives with cost reduction and environmental demands. The book content links the interaction of classical engineering with the health, medical and environmental sector.
Product Design and the Role of Representation: Foundations for Design Thinking in Practice by
1. Provides a clear taxonomy of design representations that designers can employ. 2. Contains pictorial examples of various representations. 3. Utilizes case studies of projects, examining their approach in terms of representation. 4. Uses simple, understandable terms and definitions to support understanding of representations. 5. Describes various media, methods and tools that are useful to design though representation.
Sustainable Product Design and Development by
This book outlines the process of sustainable product design and development. It presents design guidelines that help prolong the life of a product and minimize its environmental impact. These guidelines specifically enable product design for end-of-life (EoL) objectives such as reuse, recycling and remanufacturing. Sustainable Product Design and Development also presents mathematical models that will help the designer determine the cost of designing sustainable products. This cost can be computed early during the design stage of a product. Sustainable Product Design and Development presents different ways and means by which a product can address all three pillars of sustainability--environmental conservation, social sustainability, and economic sustainability. Various case studies are incorporated in different chapters. Case studies on designing products for assembly, disassembly and remanufacturing have been presented in their respective chapters. The book also provides an overview of global environmental legislation to help the reader grasp the importance of waste management and sustainable product design. This book is aimed at professionals, engineering students, environmental scientists, and those in the business environment.
Product Design by 
Practical Project Management for Engineers by 
Effective Project Management: Guidance and Checklists for Engineering and Construction by 
Project Management Toolkit: Expert Skills for Success in Engineering, Technical, Process Industry and Corporate Projects by
This book provides you with the tools required to approach and manage projects. These effective skills will impact positively on the success of both the projects you are involved with and of your organization. Project Management Toolkit introduces the whole project life-cycle. It is the first of four project management titles that separately build skills in critical PM areas and together provide a powerful project management resource.
Engineered to Speak: Helping You Create and Deliver Engaging Technical Presentations by 
Engineering Writing by Design: Creating Formal Documents of Lasting Value (2e) by
Engineering Writing by Design: Creating Formal Document of Lasting Value, Second Edition shows how effective writing can be achieved by thinking like an engineer. Based on the authors' combined experience as engineering educators, the book presents a novel approach to technical writing, positioning formal writing tasks as engineering design problems with requirements, constraints, protocols, standards, and customers (readers) to satisfy. Specially crafted for busy engineers and engineering students, this quick-reading conversational text: Describes how to apply engineering design concepts to the writing process Explains how engineers fall into thinking traps, and gives techniques for avoiding them Covers the essentials of grammar, style, and mathematical exposition Highlights topics in writing ethics, including copyright, plagiarism, data presentation, and persuasion Engineering Writing by Design: Creating Formal Documents of Lasting Value, Second Edition addresses the specific combination of thinking and writing skills needed to succeed in modern engineering. Its mantra is: to write like an engineer, you must think like an engineer. Featuring illustrative examples, chapter summaries and exercises, quick-reference tables, and recommendations for further reading, this book is packed with valuable tips and information practicing and aspiring engineers need to become effective writers.
Persuasive Communication for Science and Technology Leaders: Writing and Speaking with Confidence by
Persuasive Communication for Science and Technology Leaders Explore this insightful guide to the development of persuasive leadership skills perfect for students and managers in technical fields Many technical managers receive little or no training in the persuasive arts. Though technically skilled, they often lack the ability to engage effectively with an audiences outside their field. Persuasive Communication for Science and Technology Leaders: Writing and Speaking with Confidence delivers a thorough treatment of how to connect with audiences whose knowledge, values, personal experiences, ethnic background, gender, and worldview may differ from their own. Written in a highly readable and entertaining style, this book goes beyond the scope of a standard textbook on persuasive communication. Its practical lessons illustrate the techniques of effective scientific and technical writing while emphasizing values-based leadership for a more just, inclusive, and sustainable world, a theme that seems particularly pertinent during these times of multiple crises, misinformation campaigns, and science denial. The distinguished speaker and author explores the broader importance of language and explains various techniques for expanding your expressive range and your professional influence. He will also teach you methods for conveying information clearly and precisely as well as in ways that inspire and leave a lasting impression. You will also benefit from: A thorough introduction to knowing and connecting with your audience, using voice, tone, and point of view for results, and engaging your reader with compelling openings An exploration of explaining complex technologies clearly, succeeding with challenging writing assignments, and applying a variety of persuasive strategies for agile responses to a rapidly changing world An examination of speaking effectively while thinking on your feet, including how to create a safety net and how to recover from momentary lapses Easy-to-remember guidance on avoiding common language errors that might undermine your credibility or, worse yet, make people stop listening to you Perfect for undergraduate and graduate students in scientific and technical fields such as engineering, geology, botany, climatology, and epidemiology, Persuasive Communication for Science and Technology Leaders: Writing and Speaking with Confidence will earn a place in the libraries of technical managers and leaders who seek to better connect with their audiences.
