Research Guides: Sociology: Journal Articles

A jumping point to research

CQ Researcher include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Issues and Controversies An online collection of articles that written by Facts On File’s own expert writers and editors. Each article includes supporting materials and helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) An online resource covering social issues including more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, 5 million articles, nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs, 70,000 images, and other multimedia.

Points of View Reference Center Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue

Gale Ebooks Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other specialized reference resources on a wide range of topics. A great place for topic overviews.

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas.

Sociology Information Literacy

Selected Databases

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reports from governmental and nongovernmental agencies, and books. Its focus is on criminal justice, criminology, law enforcement, sentencing and corrections
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database specifically for survey questions–best finding aid for US survey data and all major US commercial, media, and academic polls. Learn How to Search iPOLL
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research in applied psychology, developmental psychology, personality, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier research platform to find and analyze scholarly research literature on Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Advanced Search

in Multiple Resources

in Articles - Peer Reviewed

in Library Catalog

in Databases A-Z

in Journals A-Z

in Research Guides

in CMU Library FAQ

HeinOnline online research product with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.

Laws and Regulations - USA..GOV

Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.

Westlaw Offers full text coverage to thousands of news databases and business, trade, and professional publications.

Research literature can be defined as written reports from research studies. There are many types of research literature, with published research articles representing the most common source for research literature. Other sources include dissertations, books, and internet websites.

Published research articles, for some, are considered the most trustworthy type of research literature. When identifying articles, it is most important to consider the origin of the work....Read more

How to Read a Journal Article - Tips and tricks to make reading and understanding social science journal articles easier.

How to Cite

Research Help

Having roadblocks during your research process? Need help to find appropriate sources to develop your research project? Click the button to make a one-on-one appointment with your librarian Rui Wang, Social Science Librarian / Professor , Email wang1r@cmich.edu

Subject Librarian

Rui Wang

Email Me

Contact:

Email: wang1r@cmich.edu
Office: Park Library 232

989-774-4218

Subjects: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Datasets and Statistical Information, Military Science, Neuroscience, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology