18th Distance Library Services Conference: Conference Award

URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/dls2018

Important Dates

Early Bird Registration


April 11-13, 2018

Stay Connected

Join the conference mailing list


For conference-related questions, please contact:

Thad Dickinson
Conference Coordinator


Phone: (770) 933-7669

Conference Award

Congratulations to Dr. Victoria Raish for receiving the 18th Distance Library Services Conference Award! 

Dr. Raish is the Online Learning Librarian for Penn State University. In this role, she serves the World Campus students population and helps the library to think strategically about how to embrace their role in the online environment. She strongly follows the belief of equivalent access   as espoused in the ACRL Distance Learning Standards. Before assuming this position, she was a graduate assistant within the library while a Ph.D. student in Learning, Design, and Technology. She specializes in digital badges and virtual simulations. In addition to her PhD, she has an MAT from The University of Southern California and a BS in Biology from Mercyhurst College.

Dr. Raish will be presenting, "Library Connection: Making Online Students Feel At-Home in the Library," at the conference.



As the recipient of the Conference Award, Dr. Raish will receive:

  • Complimentary conference registration
  • $599 stipend for travel and lodging expenses
  • Special mention in the conference program
  • Membership on the Conference Advisory Board for the next conference

The Conference Award is a way to encourage participation by and increase networking opportunities for professionals new to the field of distance librarianship.

To be eligible for the award, an applicant must satisfy the following criteria:

  • Be a first-time attendee of the Distance Library Services Conference
  • Be a professional librarian who has spent fewer than two years working primarily with off-campus and/or online students and faculty
  • Have a Paper Presentation proposal accepted for the 18th Distance Library Services Conference

Previous award recipients:

2016: Andrea Hebert, Louisiana State University

2014: Michelle Keba, Nova Southeastern University

2012: Amy Hofer, Portland State University

2010: Mark-Shane Scale, University of the West Indies

2008: Paul Betty, Regis University, & Susan Shepley, Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology

2006: Dan Lawrence, Rocky Mountain Center for Health Promotion and Education