Life Sciences Datasets: Bioinformatics

A list of NIH-supported data repositories. Includes links to generalist repositories, and additional data guidance.

From Lavery Library of St. John Fisher College, the creation of this Bioinformatics guide was generously funded by the Rochester Regional Library Council (RRLC). It has lists of repositories by research discipline.

From iDigBio, a list of facilities in the United States that maintain collections of nucleic acid extracts (DNA or RNA) or preserved tissues suitable for genetic and genomic studies of biodiversity (updated in April and May, 2020).

AgBioData is a consortium of agricultural biological databases and associated resources working together to ensure standards and best practices for the acquisition, display, and retrieval of genomic, genetic, and breeding data.

Canadian Bioinformatics Workshops (CBW) series, available from the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research.

From the NIH National Center for Biotechnology Information, the database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP) was developed to archive and distribute the data and results from studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype in Humans.

EMBL-EBI collaborates with scientists and engineers all over the world to provide infrastructure needed to share genetic data openly in the life sciences.

The Integrated Microbial Genomes (IMG) system serves as a community resource for analysis and annotation of genome and metagenome datasets in a comprehensive comparative context.

MGI is the international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information, including data, applications, research projects, and analysis tools.

The Rat Genome Database (RGD) was established in 1999 and is the premier site for genetic, genomic, phenotype, and disease data generated from rat research.

The Saccharomyces Genome Database (SGD) provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms.

A collaboration between EMBL-EBI, the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, and the Protein Information Resource (PIR) of Georgetown University, the mission of the Universal Protein Resource is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information.

The single repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.

WormBase is an international consortium of biologists and computer scientists dedicated to providing the research community with accurate, current, accessible information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes. Founded in 2000, the WormBase Consortium is led by Paul Sternberg of CalTech, Paul Kersey of the EBI, Matt Berriman of the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, and Lincoln Stein of the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research.