Bioinformatics: A Practical Guide to NCBI Databases and Sequence Alignments
by
Bioinformatics: A Practical Guide to NCBI Databases and Sequence Alignments provides the basics of bioinformatics and in-depth coverage of NCBI databases, sequence alignment, and NCBI Sequence Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST). As bioinformatics has become essential for life sciences, the book has been written specifically to address the need of a large audience including undergraduates, graduates, researchers, healthcare professionals, and bioinformatics professors who need to use the NCBI databases, retrieve data from them, and use BLAST to find evolutionarily related sequences, sequence annotation, construction of phylogenetic tree, and the conservative domain of a protein, to name just a few. Technical details of alignment algorithms are explained with a minimum use of mathematical formulas and with graphical illustrations. Key Features Provides readers with the most-used bioinformatics knowledge of bioinformatics databases and alignments including both theory and application via illustrations and worked examples. Discusses the use of Windows Command Prompt, Linux shell, R, and Python for both Entrez databases and BLAST. The companion website (http://www.hamiddi.com/instructors/) contains tutorials, R and Python codes, instructor materials including slides, exercises, and problems for students. This is the ideal textbook for bioinformatics courses taken by students of life sciences and for researchers wishing to develop their knowledge of bioinformatics to facilitate their own research.
Artificial Intelligence in Bioinformatics and Chemoinformatics
by
The authors aim to shed light on the practicality of using machine learning in finding complex chemoinformatics and bioinformatics applications as well as identifiying AI in biological and chemical data points. The chapters are designed in such a way that they highlight the important role of AI in chemistry and bioinformatics particularly for the classification of diseases, selection of features and compounds, dimensionality reduction and more. In addition, they assist in the organization and optimal use of data points generated from experiments performed using AI techniques. This volume discusses the development of automated tools and techniques to aid in research plans. Features Covers AI applications in bioinformatics and chemoinformatics Demystifies the involvement of AI in generating biological and chemical data Provides an Introduction to basic and advanced chemoinformatics computational tools Presents a chemical biology based toolset for artificial intelligence usage in drug design Discusses computational methods in cancer, genome mapping, and stem cell research
Darwin's Fossils: The Collection that Shaped the Theory of Evolution
by
The Extended Specimen: Emerging Frontiers in Collections-based Ornithological Research
by
Managing Natural Science Collections: A Guide to Strategy, Planning and Resourcing
by
Pressed Plants: Making a Herbarium
by
A compact and contemporary guide to collecting, drying and storing plant specimens--suitable for both professional researchers and ardent amateurs. The long-awaited update to Dr. Christoper Brayshaw's beloved Plant Collecting for the Amateur, Linda P.J. Lipsen's Pressed Plants goes to the heart of professional and amateur plant collecting today. Rich in illustrations, infographics, and plant photography, this beautiful book balances the ongoing history of plant collection with practical advice, and it includes the latest updates to best practices, such as how to preserve plant material for DNA extraction and how to navigate increasingly complex cultural and conservation considerations. Pressed Plants responds to the recent revival of enthusiasm for nature, biodiversity, and conservation with an increased emphasis on how to document the biodiversity around us. It will help any reader feel that they can understand how to properly document plant biodiversity so it's understood, valued, and protected.
Reading the World: British Practices of Natural History, 1760-1820
by
Amplifying Informal Science Learning: Rethinking Research, Design, and Engagement
by
This collection explores the broad landscape of current and future out-of-school science learning environments. Written by leading experts and innovators in informal science learning, these thoughtful and critical essays examine the changing nature of informal institutions such as science museums, zoos, nature centers, planetariums, aquaria, and botanical gardens and their impact on science education. The book examines the learning opportunities and challenges created by community-based experiences including citizen science, makerspaces, science media, escape rooms, hobby groups, and gaming. Based on current practices, case studies, and research, the book focuses on four cross-cutting themes - inclusivity, digital engagement, community partnerships, and bridging formal and informal learning - to examine how people learn science informally. The book will be of interest to STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) educators - both in and out of school - designers of science and experiential education programs, and those interested in building STEM learning ecosystems in their communities.
Citizen Science: How Ordinary People are Changing the Face of Discovery
by
Citizen Science in the Digital Age: Rhetoric, Science, and Public Engagement
by
Handbook of Citizen Science in Ecology and Conservation
by
Handbook of Citizen Science in Ecology and Conservation is the first practical and comprehensive manual for creating, implementing, or improving natural science research and monitoring projects that involve collaboration between scientists and the general public. As citizen science projects become increasingly common, project leaders are seeking information on concrete best practices for planning and implementing projects--practices that allow them to guide and gauge success while also ensuring the collection of high-quality data and rewarding experiences for volunteers. In this handbook, citizen science practitioners from around the world and with decades of experience provide step-by-step instructions, insights, and advice, and they explore real-world applications through case studies from a variety of citizen science projects. This is the definitive reference guide for anyone interested in starting or improving a citizen science project with ecological or conservation applications, from professors and graduate students to agency staff and nongovernmental organizations.
Learning Through Citizen Science: Enhancing Opportunities by Design
by
