Life Sciences Datasets: Ecological

From the Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE), use this search engine to find datasets from several of the repositories below as well as others.

Global Biotic Interactions (GloBI) provides open access to finding species interaction data (e.g., predator-prey, pollinator-plant, pathogen-host, parasite-host) by combining existing open datasets using open source software.

From Nature, recommended data repositories for biological sciences, as well as links to repositories for other research areas.

DataONE unites a network of data repositories operated by research centers, universities, non-profit organizations, citizen science initiatives, government and non-government organizations, and the like. Member institutions share data and infrastructure with DataONE and in return, we facilitate user access to data and interoperability between members.

A catalogue of databases, described according to the BioDBcore guidelines, along with the standards used within them; partly compiled with the support of Oxford University Press (NAR Database Issue and DATABASE Journal).

A registry of over 900 data repositories in the life sciences from re3data.org

Lists of biomedical repositories from the US National Institutes of Health.

From the United States Geological Survey (USGS), the Columbia Environmental Research Center focuses on environmental contaminants and the effects of habitat alterations on aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems.

The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.

The EDI Data Portal contains environmental and ecological data packages contributed by a number of participating organizations.

This is a publicly accessible registry describing scientific data sets on ecology and the environment. The data sets registered here are associated with articles published in the journals of the Ecological Society of America.

The Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB) is an international repository intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research.

The US. long-term ecological research network consists of 28 sites with a rich history of ecological inquiry, collaboration across a wide range of research topics, and engagement with students, educators, and community members.

The National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) provides open data to understand changing ecosystems. NEON is a project sponsored by the US National Science Foundation (NSF).

NatureServe is the definitive source for information on rare and endangered species and ecosystems in the Americas. This field guide of life provides information on the 100,000 species and ecosystems that we track.

A gateway to Australian ecology data: 98,000 sites of vegetation plot data; 250 ecology attributes; Australian-wide coverage.