*U.S. Government Information

A "government information database" refers to a digital collection of information compiled and maintained by a government agency, containing data on various topics like demographics, public health, economics, law enforcement, and more.

Overall, there is a variety of ways to access government information databases. Since 1990s, electronic government information databases have been produced rapidly. In addition to GPO, other federal agencies and entities also produce information databases. For example, PubMed, Census Data, BLS, USDA Publications, etc.

Meanwhile, non-government organizations and commercial publishers have integrated government information databases into their own databases, for examples, ICPSR, Westlaw, HeinOnline, Statista, ERIC, HathiTrust government periodicals, and database products of publishing companies such as ProQuest, EBSCO, etc. This means information databases produced by the government have been included in search results when users use these search tools. 

In addition, FDLP Basic Collection is available. CMU library is a Federal depository library. Every Federal depository library is required to have titles in this collection.

The following links also provide access and assistance for access to government information and databases:

• FDLP's Collections & Databases includes some with additional access for Federal depository libraries. 
  • Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is currently offline There is no timeline for when HSDL will be back online. Please use this email HSDL@nps.edu to contact HSDL staff for help.
• GovInfo provides free, authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
• CMU Library Government Information guide provides resources and in-depth research consultations for CMU users. 
• Documents on Demand services can get tangible government documents for CMU users through Interlibrary loan.