Skip to Main Content

U.S. Government Information

Three Branches

The legislative branch makes laws (Congress, comprised of the House of Representatives and Senate)


The executive branch carries out laws (president, vice president, Cabinet, most federal agencies)

Executive Office of the President

The Executive Office of the president communicates the president's message and deals with the federal budget, security, and other high priorities.

Executive Departments

These are the main agencies of the federal government. The heads of these 15 agencies are also members of the president's cabinet.

Executive Department Sub-Agencies and Bureaus

Smaller sub-agencies support specialized work within their parent executive department agencies.

Quasi-Official Agencies

Independent Agencies

These agencies are not represented in the cabinet and are not part of the Executive Office of the president. They deal with government operations, the economy, and regulatory oversight.

Boards, Commissions, and Committees

Congress or the president establish these smaller organizations to manage specific tasks and areas that don't fall under parent agencies.




The judicial branch interprets the meaning of laws, applies laws to individual cases, and decides if laws violate the Constitution. It is comprised of the Supreme Court and other federal courts.

Supreme Court

Federal Courts and Judicial Agencies


Central Michigan University Libraries, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy