*U.S. Government Information

The Central Michigan University Library has been a designated federal depository library of Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) since 1958 and provides access to more than 500,000 publications of the United States government. Our collections consists of print, microform, and online items. These items can be searched and found in the library's search tool, Smart Search.

The print government documents are accessible by SuDocs number during the library's operating hours; online documents are accessible at all times. Free access to these collections is guaranteed by the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

This guide highlights government info that is relevant to CMU users. For more help, contact Rui Wang, Librarian for Government Information at wang1r@cmich.edu.

Web portals

• GovInfo  discover U.S. government information by the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO),

• USA.gov to find and understand the government services and information, about USA.gov

FDLP Databases

• Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) it is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document.

• Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is a database containing non-classified Presidential directives, policy, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources related to homeland security. 

• MetaLib a search engine to retrieve reports, articles and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases.

• Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an online service of the United States Judiciary that provides case and docket information from Federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts.