Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marian Matyn

She, her, hers
Archivist, Associate Professor, Subject Bibliographer, History Dept.
Profile Photo
Marian Matyn
She, her, hers
Contact:
Park 135a (in Clarke Historical Library)
989.774.3990
Hello!
My name is Marian Matyn (pronounced May’-tin). I’m the bibliographer or reference librarian for the History Dept. I’m happy to help you find resources for History class research projects and papers.

I earned a M.A. in history from CMU. From the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor I earned a M.I.L.S. with a concentration in Archival Administration, and a B.A. in history. Primary sources and archives rock my world! I love a wide range of history- and information-related topics. At CMU I teach HST 583 Archives Administration and LIB 197. I also train and supervise student employees, interns, and independent study students in archives processing and description. Below my contact information is a select list of my publications and presentations. I am an active member of SAA, AMIA, MAC, MARAC, and MAA.

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Marian J. Matyn
Archivist, Associate Professor | Clarke Historical Library, CMU Libraries
Subject Bibliographer | CMU History Department
Park 135A | Central Michigan University | Mount Pleasant, MI 48859
P: 989-774-3990 | E: marian.matyn@cmich.edu

Archivistrising321.blogspot.com

In process:
Co-authored paper with Brit Fremion, “Commemoration and Contamination: Remembering Michigan’s PBB Mix-Up of the 1970s.” This will be submitted in early fall term 2021 for publication.

Publications:
Co-authored paper with Tressa Graves, “The Pivotal role of student labor in the Clarke Historical Library’s moving image access and preservation project, “ The Moving Image 19, no. 2 (2019): 26-49. [Due to COVID this was actually published Dec. 20, 2021] https://doi.org/10.5749/movingimage.19.2.0026

“Integrating manuscripts into Michigan curriculum through archival outreach” in Librarians as Community Partners: an Outreach Handbook (Chicago: ALA, 2010), pp.110-113.

Presenations:
“Digital and Hybrid Archival Education During COVD-19: Tips and Lessons Learned, MAC online, May 13, 2021. I created this session. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGp51WV5dyI&list=PLQ8WG35nM-kYiddI8FvExNkQn4ot3lvgn&index=4

"Challenges and solutions of processing PBB manuscript collections,” SAA online, Aug. 7, 2020. I created this session. Sessions were recorded but must be purchased.
“Research worth Diving into: CMU”s Great Lakes Collections for Underwater Researchers,” Underwater Cultural Resources Public Access and Research Conference, Mount Pleasant, Feb. 26, 2020. Invited speaker.

“Michigan Equestrians, Fliers, and Clowns: Women Challenging and Changing Gender Roles and Behaviors in Circus and Society” at Great Lakes History Conference, Allendale, MI, Oct. 9, 2015.

“Clarke Historical Library Film Preservation Project Challenges” at MAC, Lexington, KY, co-presenter, and also Chair of this panel discussion, May 9, 2015.

My Research Guides

Last update: Nov 4, 2022 49 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 0 views
History
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 1028 views
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 59 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 4 views
Last update: Aug 5, 2022 52 views
Last update: Aug 31, 2022 102 views
Last update: Aug 31, 2022 90 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 89 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 55 views
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 32 views
Last update: Feb 9, 2022 114 views
Last update: Mar 4, 2022 35 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 246 views
Last update: Aug 31, 2022 111 views
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 28 views
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 381 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 102 views
Last update: Jan 21, 2022 40 views
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 95 views
Last update: Aug 24, 2022 137 views
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 34 views
Last update: Apr 28, 2022 46 views
Last update: Apr 28, 2022 34 views
Last update: Sep 16, 2022 120 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 392 views
Last update: Feb 9, 2022 35 views
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 91 views
Last update: Sep 27, 2021 70 views
Last update: Sep 26, 2022 15 views
Last update: Sep 27, 2021 104 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 59 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 140 views
Last update: Jun 15, 2022 156 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 1093 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 200 views
Last update: Aug 17, 2022 36 views
Last update: Aug 10, 2022 1847 views
Last update: Sep 26, 2022 47 views
Last update: Jun 15, 2022 112 views
Museum Studies
Last update: Nov 4, 2022 144 views

My Subject Specialties

title
Loading...

Central Michigan University Libraries, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.


Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy