Banner Image

17th Distance Library Services Conference: Conference Award


Important Dates

Call for Proposals


Conference Begins
April 20, 2016

Stay Connected!

Join the conference mailing list!

Contact Us

  • Email
  • Phone: 770-933-7669

Conference Award

Congratulations to Andrea Hebert, the 2016 Conference Award winner!

Andrea Hebert is the distance learning librarian at Louisiana State University. She also serves as the liaison to the College of Human Sciences and Education. Before becoming an academic librarian, she worked as an elementary school librarian for two years. In her previous incarnations, she worked as a Latin teacher in Virginia, a medical copyeditor, and a course coordinator for LSU Independent & Distance Learning. Andrea earned a BA English and Latin from Louisiana State University, an MA in Latin from the University of Georgia, and an MLIS from Louisiana State University.

Andrea hopes to draft a strategic plan that will move LSU Libraries’ services to its distance learning community forward by aligning policies, processes, services, and assessment. She will be presenting "Hunting and Gathering: Attempting to Assess Services to Distance Learning Students" at the DLS Conference.

As the recipient of the Conference Award, Andrea will receive:

  • Complimentary conference registration
  • $599 stipend for travel and lodging expenses
  • Special mention in the conference program
  • Membership on the Conference Advisory Board for the next conference

The Conference Award is a way to encourage participation by and increase networking opportunities for professionals new to the field of distance librarianship. To be eligible for the award, an applicant must satisfy the following criteria:

  • Be a first-time attendee of the Distance Library Services Conference;
  • Be a professional librarian who has spent fewer than two years working primarily with off-campus and/or online students and faculty; and
  • Have a Contributed Paper proposal accepted at the upcoming Distance Library Services Conference.

Previous award winners:

2014: Michelle Keba, Nova Southeastern University

2012: Amy Hofer, Portland State University

2010: Mark-Shane Scale, University of the West Indies

2008: Paul Betty, Regis University, & Susan Shepley, Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology

2006: Dan Lawrence, Rocky Mountain Center for Health Promotion and Education


Central Michigan University Libraries, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy